“POW MIA Chair of Honor” Dedication Ceremony held at YCCC

November 9, 2017

Dr. Barbara Finkelstein – President, YCCC; Sean O’Leary – Vice President of Sales & Marketing, Hussey Seating; Jim Fitzgerald, Vice Chair YCCCF and Veteran; Kathy Baker, Chair, YCCCF

YCCC and the York County Community College Foundation (YCCCF) dedicated a “POW MIA Chair of Honor” at a ceremony held on Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 2pm in the Pratt & Whitney Building, Wells Campus.

The program began with a ceremonial Presentation and Posting of Colors by Retired Specialist 5 Stanley Sheldon, Retired Sergeant Frank Milinksi and Retired Gunnery Sergeant Gordan Kendell,  opening prayer by Retired 1st Sergeant Richard Langlais, and a Welcome and the Pledge of Allegaince was led by YCCC President Dr. Barbara Finkelstein followed by an explanation of POW MIA Chair Program by Sean O’Leary, Hussey Seating, Vice President of Sales and Marketing. Kevin Prouty, a current YCCC Student and Veteran, gave brief remarks which were followed by the  dedication which was by led by James W. Fitzgerald, Vice-Chair YCCCF and Veteran. The ceremony was concluded in prayer followed by the playing of Taps by Retired Sergeant Mike Iosua and the Retiring of Colors.

Since WWI 82,000 Service Men and Women remain unaccounted for. The POW MIA Chair is to remain perpetually empty to help people remember that even though our soldiers are not here, there is always space for them. The chair, which was donated by Hussey Seating Company, and related items are now on display in the main lobby of the YCCC Pratt & Whintey Builidng on the Wells Campus.