YCCC 2017 Student of the Year

April 27, 2017
YCCC President, Dr. Barbara Finkelstein and YCCC 2017 Student of the Year, Elizabeth Hansen

YCCC President, Dr. Barbara Finkelstein and YCCC 2017 Student of the Year, Elizabeth Hansen

YCCC is pleased to announce Elizabeth “Liz” Hansen as the YCCC Student of the Year. Liz was chosen by college faculty and staff because of her outstanding academic achievements and commitment to the college and community.

Hansen is a first generation college student from Sanford, who credits TRIO Student Support Services and its amazing staff at YCCC for helping her succeed.  She is a proud member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and will graduate in May with an AAS in Behavioral Health Studies. She has a passion for helping others and giving back to her community.   She serves as a mentor for new YCCC TRIO students, helping them adjust to academic life and learn management and study skills.  When not at YCCC, she is a volunteer at the Krempels Center, a non-profit organization for traumatic brain injury survivors, where she designs group activities that focus on a variety of skills such as abstract thinking, fine motor skills, self-reflection, and social skill development.  After graduation she plans to continue her studies at the University of New England, majoring in Psychology and minoring in Neuroscience before going on to pursue her Master’s degree and possibly her Doctorate.

“It was an amazing experience and I couldn’t be more appreciative of Trio for nominating me and being there yesterday to share the joy.” said Hansen “YCCC has been an amazing campus, and the community there has helped me to pursue my dreams. I am so thankful for everyone; the staff, the administration, and the instructors are so wonderful.”

Hansen was honored by the Maine Community College System (MCCS) on Wednesday, April 26, 2017 in a ceremony held at the Senator Inn in Augusta.  After brief remarks from MCCS President, Derek Langhauser, she was presented with the John H. Lapoint, Jr. Leadership Award in the amount of $1,000.

“The day emphasized the abundance of student success in the Maine Community College System and paid tribute to the obstacles our awardees overcame to truly shine.” said Dr. Nicholas Gill, Associate Dean of Institutional Research and Planning, who presented Hansen with the award.