April 8, 2019

YCCC held its annual induction ceremony of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society, on Thursday, March 28, 2019. New members were honored for their outstanding academic records and achievements.

The Keynote Speaker was Jen Huntress, Regional PTK Officer, New Hampshire Technical Institute. The Oath of Membership was given by YCCC PTK Advisor, Paul Archer.

28 students have accepted membership this academic year including; Anna Ho, Laura Boyyn-Satenstein, Sarah Nargi, Emily Ouellette, Billy Susanto, Milliken Bartlett, Ashley Carl, Jacob Gagnon, Courtney Nilosek, Reece Saunders, Vivian Nguyen, Ashley Staples, Dana Comeau, Kelli Gower, Haley Lavris, Amie Romano, Nicole Ross

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society membership requirements are as follows:
• Completion of at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree
• Achievement and maintenance of a cumulative grade point average of 3.5
• Acceptance of membership invitation to the chapter, region, and international chapters

The mission of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students, and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education and is the official honor society for two-year colleges.

YCCC’s PTK Chapter, Beta Lambda Rho, is active on campus and in the community. All members, and alumni, are encouraged to be involved. Chapter activities include membership awareness events, fundraisers, and community impact projects.